Radioactive cesium spread as far as Gunma-Nagano border

  • Radioactive cesium spread as far as Gunma-Nagano border

    The science ministry released maps on Nov. 11 showing aerially measured accumulations of radioactive cesium from the Fukushima No. 1 nuclear plant in 18 prefectures.

    Measurements were taken for the first time in six prefectures--Iwate, Toyama, Yamanashi, Nagano, Gifu and Shizuoka--in addition to the previously available contamination maps of 12 prefectures, providing an almost complete picture of eastern Japan.

    Radioactive cesium has contaminated areas as far west as the border between Gunma and Nagano prefectures, and as far north as the southern part of Iwate Prefecture, according to officials.

    The combined concentration of cesium-134 and cesium-137 exceeded 30,000 becquerels per square meter in certain areas of four municipalities in southern Iwate Prefecture--Oshu, Hiraizumi, Ichinoseki and Fujisawa--and parts of four municipalities in eastern Nagano Prefecture--Karuizawa, Miyota, Saku and Sakuho.